Ireland

Here’s a snippet of our time in Ireland:

.     “You know, everyone in America is divorced, and I think I know why: it’s tailgating.  So, a man tells his wife that he’s going to leave at eight in the morning to go to a party where there’ll be alcohol.  Then he’ll go off to a game that lasts five hours, go to an after-game party and drink more alcohol, and come home around midnight drunk and angry because they lost.  No wonder all the Americans are divorced!”

.     I decided I liked this man: the cabby with the foul mouth and strong opinions.  Few people in America assert their opinions so strongly when the satisfaction of their customers is on the line, but in Ireland (where no one expects a tip and they fairly fall over when given one), they discuss culture, sports, and even politics regardless of the present company.

.     The Irish are also friendly and hospitable.  A few days earlier, we were in a little shop in Blarney.  When we had difficulty picking out rings, one of the ladies attending the shop came over to help us.  She chatted about why she liked each of the rings and the significance behind each design.  Like the cabby, she gave her opinion freely; when I chose otherwise, she asserted that if I were drawn to a ring contrary to most everyone else’s preferences, it must certainly be my favorite.  Though the shop was actually closed before we left, she did not even tell us—she was enjoying sharing her knowledge and pleasant conversation with us.

.     Near Dublin, we met five other people who shared this laid-back nature and love for conversation.  They stopped to help us recover my brothers’ rugby ball, and then continued walking with us.  We discussed college, traveling, and cultural differences, and they were in no hurry to move on though the sky was black and dotted with stars.

.     I love Ireland and its people, culture, and music.  My goal is to study music in college, publish some of my original songs, and then move to Ireland to continue writing and performing my music with the people I love.  Until then, I will enjoy my memories and the music that the Irish have given to the world.

PS: I think my sister unintentionally taught me how to write interesting narratives because I couldn’t write decent short stories until just a few months ago and I think it was from reading her stories.  Here’s her blog: https://littlemousejane.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

